Back on the bandwagon

I’ve had a break from blogging for a few weeks. In that time I’ve been reading a ton of stuff, getting back into the swing of work, and planning the rest of 2011. Given that January’s almost over I thought it was time to start writing again. Here’s what I’m planning:

I’m aiming to write a couple of series between now and summer:

  • Spiritual Disciplines – an overview and a look at a few disciplines as me and a couple of guys work through them.
  • Redefining Risk – been wanting to do this one for a while. John Wimber said ‘Faith is spelt R I S K’. I think we’re missing out on what risk means and what it means to take risks.

In amongst that I’ll be looking at stuff prompted by what I’m reading and listening to, and I’m going to try and add some more practical stuff in too, for instance looking at debt, budgeting, value systems, and the advantages of getting rid of clutter. I’m also looking to run a series of workshops around those more practical topics.

I mentioned reading more – I’d love your thoughts on what I could add to my reading list? Currently it looks something like:

  • Rediscovering Values – Jim Wallis
  • The Reason for God and The Prodigal God – Tim Keller
  • Drops Like Stars – Rob Bell
  • Mere Christianity – C S Lewis
  • The Pursuit of God – Tozer
  • The Tipping Point and Blink – Gladwell
  • The Starfish and the Spider – Brafman and Beckstrom
  • Tribes – Seth Godin
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship – Drucker

That gives you a flavour of the kind of stuff I’m into – what do you recommend?

~ by jgebrown on 27 January 2011.

3 Responses to “Back on the bandwagon”

  1. mere christianity, i really want to read that book!!

  2. I read Mere Christianity and the Pursuit of God last summer, it really changed my perspective of Christianity! Also Tozer’s language is simply beautiful!

    I’m excited to see what you write about debt and budgeting! I could really use some tips.

  3. You’ve got some good books lined up there! I also like stuff by G Campbell Morgan, very similar in content to Tozer.

Leave a Reply

 
